Spiritual Monday
Spiritual Monday Podcast
Expression
1
0:00
-9:46

Expression

Actualising of potentiality
1

Expression

56th Edition

Happy Spiritual Monday!

In the past 5 days I have had the privilege of sitting in the company of beautiful expressers of life. It has had a profound impact on my conscious mindset and on my conscience. There has also been a reigniting of a principle that has flowed through my mind the past couple weeks. Naturally, I’ll share on it here.

Potentiality

When I was growing up, science was my best friend. Chemistry, physics, maths - they were all measurable and there was always a solution to any problem or challenge. I was a big Einstein fan growing up, and whether or not you shared my love for the brain in his head, you would’ve heard of his most famous equation:

E=mc2

I have seen bumper stickers with this on them, shirts, people bring it up casually in dinner conversations… The funny thing is that many of the people who throw it around may not have a solid grasp on what it posits. A simple definition if the equation can be to say that “Energy (E) equates to the mass (m) of an object multiplied by the speed of light (c) squared.” Again, without diving too deep, the speed of light is 3 x 108 m/s, (or excessively high numbers) and this number squared, then multiplied by mass would yield a large quantity of energy.

Impressive, as we humans tend to like big numbers, but what does this really mean to the layperson? Well, it’s possible that without knowing it, Einstein may have been one of the world’s first motivational speakers, because this equation is a statement of potentiality in all things! Essentially, what he proposed was that if we could truly harness the potential energy latent in any item of mass, we would be able to basically have access tp massive amounts of energy without need for power plants and the like. Funny that he was around when the hydrogen bombs were first coming into play…

I’ve since moved on to explore more quantum realms of physics and philosophy and their interrelated dancing, but I wanted to share that as the preface for today’s edition. With regards to motivational speak, coaching, spiritual paths and similar fields, I find it fascinating how we talk so much in the potential realm, but can sometimes get stuck there with no forward action. 

I’m guilty of it, and I’ve heard many others proclaim things like “Reach for your potential” or “Dig deep, you’re an infinite well of pure potential.” And other such simple and sometimes silly stuff… 

What I intend to convey with this information is two fold:

  1. Yes we do all have infinite potentiality within us

  2. Just accepting this as truth doesn’t really change our situation with regards to it

Actualising

So, then… If we are all walking infinities of potential power and energy, why is it that many of us stay simply as that - potential? As I am gifted week in and week out with witnessing humans moving, breathing and processing life through some aspects of a yoga practice, I feel honoured and blessed to witness how this can be a heavy brake on our system if we aren’t aware of the truth behind it, or the tools we can uniquely use to express it.

Where the mastery lies is the actualisation of said potential, not just the acknowledgement of its innate existence within us. 

We hear stories of mystics, yogis, witches and alchemists who have developed “supernatural” powers to so “inhuman” things - manifesting items, sorcery, feats of strength and more. But what if these stories are installed in place so that we develop patterns of non belief in ourselves and rather a belief that there are but a chosen few who can reach such heights? 

What if these masters of the ages are not supernatural beings different to all of the rest of us, but disciplined beings who have refine their path to unlock “natural superpowers” which genuinely are within all of us? 

The question then arises: what do they have that I don’t? Or what do they do that I don’t? 

I know I was brought up on the myth that it’s all genetics, which is a great way of programming a young brain to not pursue any greatness beyond what one sees, but as I have grown more observant, wiser and educated myself, I have realised that this is just one element of our starting points in life. Simple studies of epigenetics and ancient mind practices can reveal a great deal of wisdom into these topics, I’ll simply say that from my experience, there is much, much more than just genetics at play.

Choice & Change

What some of us may fail to see is that to live as an extraordinary individual, means to sacrifice some elements that we may enjoy as more ordinary, every day people. For example, you most certainly are not going to find the tools for transformation at the highest levels in a Netflix multi season series… You may find an entertaining way to spend several evenings of your life, but don’t take this as a sign you do not have the potential to change. There’s a saying that goes something long the lines of the more a culture buys into lies, the more they will defend them, and many would rather believe a lie because the truth requires change. 

As I reflect on the previous statements, I feel to take a moment and sit…

My life in the past few years has been a sitting with and acknowledgement of where I have accepted the unconscious, subconscious programming from my youth and simply accepted it or even defended it. Since the birth of my son, this process has exponentially accelerated, for I am now the prime supplier of energy and information for this beautiful, perfect ball of perfect potentiality and I wish to guide him towards understanding how he can live a life of actualisation. 

When I sit with the things that I have simply accepted over the years, my work is to consider why I might defend such little or big untruths, if they might be, and how I find difficulty in shifting my perspective and understanding of the matters. There is work to be done, for sure, and what I am fascinated by is designing the pathways and avenues which will bring me to my highest expression of potentiality vs just sitting on my laurels in a strange sense of pride for how potentially awesome I could possibly be.

I also realise that there is nobody coming to show us the way but ourselves. We all provide skills and tools that contribute to the total of our ecosystem, and I feel it’s important that we don’t get lost in someone else’s system of thought but rather that we can take inspiration from how they may have developed their own pathways towards actualisation and expression of their own potential so that we may create and actualise ourselves.

For Example

Many paths, same summit. This is an ethos I have come to appreciate more and more as I have grown in the areas I have chosen to pursue. I have pursued the yogic path, that of spirituality, music and sound creation, surfing and sports, philosophy and thought, sciences and logic among others. 

But there are those who have chosen to refine the blade of one skill above all others, and this past week I was able to experience 4 very different examples of this.

First, I was gifted with the opportunity to sit in ceremony with a beautiful brother, Rak Razam, who has devoted himself to facilitating the medicine of the bufo alvarius toad journey for others to awaken to the reality of the cosmos - our truest sense of oneness. This experience was powerful, deep, infinitely expansive and gave me the direct experience of what all this potential really adds up to.  Not for the faint of heart, but for those prepared, there is not a higher sense of existence and pure presence.

The following evening, I was treated to watching one of the funniest humans I’ve ever seen, Tom Segura, recount his life’s tales through the lens of mastery of comedy. I laughed and cried and again, felt a quality of presence in the company of someone who has pursued their gifts to mastery and has chosen to actualise their potential in order to share it with the world, rather than just exist as potential.

The next evening was music, and I was able to witness someone who is not only an incredible musician, but who has chosen to express himself in pure joy and fun for the world to join in on. Marc Rebillet. I haven’t been to a show that I can remember which brought the whole place to life like this, and it was so beautiful to experience this quality of presence and joy and utter silliness while also revering the mastery of craft on display.

Finally, a dear brother Tom Eadie treated us to a friends and family lunch to experience his new sanctuary he’s created over the past year. His actualisation has been the art of the eat, and pouring obscene amounts of love into incredibly delicious food to share with the world. Each bite of the meal he shared with us was heaven on the tongue, and he has truly mastered the art of providing delicious, hearty gorgeous life experiences. (barberkelo.com.au for anyone interested and in Sydney)

Suffice to say, it’s been a fantastic week and I haven’t even touched on the beautiful time I spent with my family!

Remember, life is beautiful, sometimes we just need to clean our lenses and shift our focus. 

What could you actualise today and not just be potentially good at?

Have an actual great day!

And so it is.

1 Comment
Spiritual Monday
Spiritual Monday Podcast
Spiritual Monday has been a tradition of grounding on the first day of the week
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Troy Abraham
Recent Episodes